Why is there a 5:00 minute timer when I stream video?

Why is there a 5:00 minute timer when I stream video?

If a 5:00 minute timer is displayed when you view your camera's video feed, your device is connected to your camera via a Proxy connection. The player will timeout and close after 5:00 minutes of viewing. It's set this way because a proxy connection connects both the camera and device to our secure server to negotiate the video stream, requiring a large amount of resources. A P2P connection allows a direct, remote connection between your device and camera, requiring less resources, and eliminating the need for the time-out.

If you always see a countdown timer while your device is connected to a different Wi-Fi network as the camera, verify that Force Proxy is set to OFF.

If Force Proxy is set to OFF, and you always receive a 5:00 minute timer while you are connected to the camera remotely, it's possible that your current network configuration does not allow P2P connections. P2P connections may require multicast or UPnP to be enabled in your router's settings. Consult your ISP or router configuration manual to resolve this issue.

Have More Questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk